Thrifty Style by Janine Chisholm

2 Oct

It’s happened!  My book, “Thrifty Style – Clever ways to revamp your wardrobe” is officially out today.

The book is for you whether you trawl markets for pre-loved clothing in need of repair, or simply want to update your existing wardrobe.  You can take it one step further by not just mending, but creating fashionable, unique items of clothing by reworking your old ones.  The book’s not just for experienced seamstresses either, I teach you how to sew with easy to follow instructions, step-by-step artworks and three free full-size pull-out patterns. I also give you advice on vintage clothes so you can make your wardrobe as unique and cost-effective as possible.

To celebrate the release, I’m running a competition to win one of 5 copies of my book.  To enter, all you have to do is one of the following: either follow my blog (pop your email address into the subscription box on the right hand side), follow me on Twitter or like my Facebook page.  Pop a comment below this post to tell me which and after midnight on 6th October, I’ll choose 5 winners at random.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did writing it.

Janine x

7 Responses to “Thrifty Style by Janine Chisholm”

  1. Charlie KB October 2, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I liked your Facebook page- would love to win your book, it sounds great! Congratulations x x

  2. Alchemille October 2, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    I have a degree in textile design (though I chose not to work in that field) and I just love making stuff for myself or for others. Working with patterns is fun (there’s a lot of nice Japanese craft book out there) but what I like the most is to transform something old into something renewed. I find it more stimulating (from a creative stand point) and never boring…

    • custardhouseclothing October 6, 2012 at 8:27 am #

      Hi there Alchemille. Thank you for your interest in what I am doing (trying to teach the world to customise!) I agree with you about the Japanese books they are stunning arent they?! In the initial meetings with the Publishers we used to look through the Japanese books for inspiration. Patterns can be fun and dont have to be scary – keep on with it girl and thank you!!!

  3. Bel October 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I’m not surprised you managed a career stemming from the days when we would bunk off art college to trawl the market and the charity shops! Amazing! I’m reminded of the days I’d turn old ladies velvet skirts in to hot pants then wear them out to TJ’s!!
    Congratulations lovely and i hope the book becomes a best seller!
    Bel

    • custardhouseclothing October 6, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      Helllooooo!! Thats hilarious! Thanks Bel. Well you have played a part in this! You inspired me in many ways with your customising ways when we were in college. Thank you! and I will come and visit you when Im down in Devon next! x

      • Bel October 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

        I’m SO impressed with how you’ve done! You must work really hard. I was in Teignmouth today! Maybe I’ll take a day trip across to Bristol befor Xmas and we could hook up? Xx

  4. Trish Blair October 13, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Hi Janine, your book looks exquisite! Congratulations! I imagine it’s a huge ammount of work putting it together. I hope it’s a best seller!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

